Welcome

I’m looking forward to meeting all of you. I’m Derek Willis and I’m currently a newsroom Web developer at The New York Times. I’ll explain more about what I actually do on Thursday.

Some things you should know: first, there are no textbooks for this class. But don’t think that means there are no readings. We will be reading every week. Second, this is a skills-based class, so we will be spending a good bit of time at the keyboards. If you’re not very familiar with computers, now would be an excellent time to introduce yourself to one.

I will be using Blackboard for a few things, but mostly we will have a separate class site, which I’ll unveil next week. In the meantime, if you have questions, feel free to email me. That’s the easiest and quickest method of contact.

About this entry